Change the world


Welcome to the Department of Physics

The Department of Physics at the Nelson Mandela University provides comprehensive programmmes in physics at undergraduate and BSc Honours level, as well as post-graduate research opportunities at Masters and Doctoral level.

More Info

Optical Fibre Research

Prof Andrew Leitch
Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research and Engagement
Tel: +27 41 5042017


Electron Microscopy

Prof Jan Neethling
Tel: +27 41 504 2143

Photovoltaics and Energy Research

Prof Ernest van Dyk
Professor and Director: CER
Tel: +27 41 5042259

Semiconductor Materials and Nanostructures

Professor Reinhardt A Botha
Professor of Information Technology
Tel: 27 41 504 3179

Undergraduate Students

More Info

Useful Links

More Info


More Info

Contact Us
Prof André Venter
Associate Professor and Head of Department
Tel: +27 41 504 2579/4584

SA now a marine mammal hotspot

25 March 2019

South Africa’s entire coastal marine area has been identified as globally important for marine mammals. Five candidate important marine mammal areas were demarcated for South African coastal waters at a workshop in Oman in the Middle East, each one of them applying to Algoa Bay and together encompassing all SA’s near-shore waters.

Read more