Change the world

Physics


Academic Staff
Prof André Venter
Prof André Venter
Position: Associate Professor and Head of Department
Department: Physics
Room: 13054
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 41 504 2579/4584
Fax: +27 41 504 1989
Email: andre.venter@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: Ph.D

Prof Ernest  van Dyk
Prof Ernest van Dyk
Position: Professor and Director: CER
Department: Physics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 41 5042259
Fax: +27 41 5041959
Email: Ernest.vanDyk@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Tim Gibbon
Prof Tim Gibbon
Position: Director: Centre for Broadband Communication
Department: Physics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email: tim.gibbon@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (Physics)

Prof Magnus  Wagener
Prof Magnus Wagener
Position: Associate Professor
Phone: +27 41 504 4317
Fax: +27 41 504 2573
Email: magnus.wagener@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Prof Jan Neethling
Prof Jan Neethling
Position: Professor
Department: Physics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 41 504 2143
Fax: +27 41 504 2573
Email: jan.neethling@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Prof Reinhardt Botha
Prof Reinhardt Botha
Position: Professor; SARChI Chair: Nanophotonics
Department: Physics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 41 504 2144
Fax: +27 41 504 1944
Email: Reinhardt.Botha@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Dr Freddie Vorster
Dr Freddie Vorster
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Physics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 3051
Email: Frederik.Vorster@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD (NMMU)

Mr Collin Bacela
Mr Collin Bacela
Position: Lecturer: Physics; MSc student
Phone: +27 41 504 2782
Fax: +27 41 504 2583
Email: collin.bacela@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc (Hons)

Dr Gretta Hashe
Dr Nobom Hashe
Position: Lecturer
Department: Physics
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 41 504 2233
Fax: +27 41 504 2573
Email: nobom.hashe@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD

Mr Ibrahim Coopersamy
Mr Ibrahim Coopersamy
Position: Lecturer: Physics
Phone: +27 41 504 2571
Fax: +27 41 504 2583
Email: ibrahim.coopersamy@nmmu.ac.za

Jano Jonker
Mr Jano Jonker
Position: Lecturer
Department: Physics
Room: 130152
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 41 504 2150
Fax: +27 41 504 1727
Email: jano.jonker@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc

Administration Staff
Ms Jualine Ferreira
Ms Jualine Ferreira
Position: Administrative assistant for Profs EE van Dyk and JR Botha
Department: Centre for Energy Research
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 41 504 2255
Fax: +27 41 504 1755
Email: jualine.ferreira@nmmu.ac.za

Chanie
Chanie Neveling
Position: Secretary
Department: Physics
Room: 054
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 2579
Email: chanie.neveling@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BTech Public Relations Management

Technical
M.E. Claassen
Marius Claassen
Position: Senior Electronics Technician
Department: Physics
Room: 0162A
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041-504 2149
Email: marius.claassen@nmmu.ac.za

Mr Wayne Grauman
Mr Wayne Grauman
Position: laboratory assistant Physics
Department: Academic Administration
Room: 0151c
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 0415044838
Email: wayne.grauman@nmmu.ac.za

Lonwabo Somdaka
Mr Lonwabo Somdaka
Position: Laboratory Technician
Department: Physics
Room: 13-0G73
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 2145
Fax: 083 736 0495
Email: lonwabo.somdaka2@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc Physics & Computer Science

Mr Johan Wessels
Mr Johan Wessels
Position: Technician
Fax: +27 41 504 2260
Email: johan.wessels@nmmu.ac.za